Proudly Supporting Tasman Rugby


Tasman rugby union news

Meet Our Staff

Wendy Lindstrom is our Community Rugby Administrator for Tasman Rugby based in Blenheim. She is amazingly well organised and will always make time to have a chat with our Marlborough rugby supporters.

1st XV Rugby

Mixed 2nd round results for region’s 1st XVs.

Senior competition reviews

NPD Tasman Trophy spoils were shared evenly between Marlborough and Nelson teams in division one club rugby matches contested across the top of the south on Saturday.

CEO Chat with Tony Lewis

Last Wednesday week in Blenheim the TRU started the first of a series of meetings with the stakeholders of Marlborough rugby (including Club Chairman and delegates, Coaches, Players, Life Members, Maori Rugby and JAB representatives) to review of all aspects of rugby in the region. The objective of the review is to look at the current situation and to discuss potential areas for improvement.

Meet Our Staff

Mark Cochrane is our recently appointed Rugby Development Officer for the Nelson / Tasman region. He’s well known in schools rugby having previously been employed at both Nelson & Nayland Colleges.

1st XV rugby

Nelson College opened their 2017 UC Championship campaign with their first defence of the year of the Moascar Cup. NZ’s oldest and most prestigious school’s 1st XV trophy. Despite playing with 14 mem for much of the second half, Nelson overcame Christ’s College 22 – 21 on the back of some courageous defence.

Senior Competition Reviews

Harlequins, without a win up until the weekend, defeated Kahurangi 28-17 at Lansdowne Park to be the only Marlborough club to record a win in the NPD Tasman Trophy.

CEO Chat with Tony Lewis

This year the TRU with the NZR has introduced the Blue Card Concussion Procedure in Community Rugby, to ensure players that sustain a concussion receive sufficient medical treatment before returning to rugby. We realise that for this procedure to be credible, the support of all health care providers across our region is vital. This procedure was implemented from March 2017 to all grades from 1st XV and above.

First Makos trials teams announced

Following on from the success of internal trials in 2016, squads have been selected for the Buccaneers and Musseleers teams to play on Wednesday 17 May.

Senior Competition Reviews

The weekend’s round 6 matches saw the commencement of crossover matches amongst the Marlborough and Nelson Bays clubs. Moutere, Nelson, Waitohi and Wanderers scored important away wins, while Marist and Stoke won at home.