Proudly Supporting Tasman Rugby


Tasman rugby union news

Bayleys Tasman Trophy Wrap [Nelson Mail]


Results Pool A:

Moutere 13 (Chris Ranstead, Regan Marshall tries, Noah Taio pen) v Awatere 7 (Johann Louw try, con). Halftime: 5-0;

Waimea Old Boys 35 (Kaide Whiting 2, Joe Higgins 2, Tevita Cavubati tries, Billy Guyton 2 con, 2 pen) v Waitohi 3 (Jayden Waters pen). Halftime: 13-3;

Nelson 45 (Matt Thompson, Andy Symons, Craig Moore, Shane Christie, Mitchell Thwaites, Loui Harvey, Mark Cochrane tries, David Havili 5 con) v Stoke 3 (Chad Lowrie pen). Halftime: 19-3;

Pool B:

Central 46 (Anton Tiumalu 2, Jeremy Foley, Reyne Volavola, Alan Dinan, Willie Umu, Rawiri Tamati, Dan Crockett tries, Gareth Smith 2 con, Tamati con) v Renwick 12 (Blair Harvey, Kurt Schollum tries, Ryan Schollum con). Halftime: 22-5;

Wanderers 33 (Jesse Pitman, Kerehama Barrett, Misi Nale, Tyler Kearns, Taylor Clark tries, Jackson Harvey 2 pen, con) v Kahurangi 7 (Mike Wells try, Andy Beatson con). Halftime: 13-7.

Marlborough v Nelson Bays, Blenheim, 3 June 3pm

Monday 3 June 3pm - Lansdowne Park, Blenheim. Preceded by a Tasman under-20 trial starting at 1.30pm.
NELSON BAYS: James Lash, Ryan Setefano, Sione Holani, Mike Wells, Kerehama Barrett, Billy Guyton, Kaide Whiting, Loa Windley, Dan Hytongue, Niu Taufa, Ben Douglas, Ben Coman (captain), Christian Tupuola, Tyler Kearns, Mike Tyler. Substitutes: Brock Kaaha, Mitchell Thwaites, Jerome Vaai, Taylor Clark, Sililo Savea, Dan Smart, Jesse Pitman, David Havili.
MARLBOROUGH: Kurt Lindsay, Simon Muir, Fetu Ieremia, Mark Hodren, Dan Crockett, Reyne Volavola (captain), Adam Goldsworthy, Kaleni Taetuli, James Giles, Marty Banks, Willie Umu, Mike Schmidt-Lealava'a, Jake Cresswell, Regan Marshall, Sam Aolele. Substitutes: Billy Collins, Chris Goodyer, Kurt Schollum, Ryan Schollum, Jayden Waters, Onolevu Temo, Noah Taio, Hayden Marfell.

Spoils shared in inter-regional Press Cup clash [Nelson Mail]

Nelson College 22 (Quade Dearman, Brendan Asomua-Goodman, Finn Hart-Strawbridge tries, Mitchell Hunt 2 cons, pen) Marlborough BC 22 (Atu Moli, Zac Harrison-Jones, TC Campbell tries, Mitch Smith 2 cons, pen) Ht 22-5.

Marlborough 125th anniversary celebration planned [Marl Express]

Mark in the weekend of August 23-25 and lock in "celebrations". It is the 125th anniversary of the Marlborough Rugby Union, now the Marlborough Rugby Sub-Union and the 40th anniversary of the Red Devils' famous Ranfurly Shield win over Canterbury at Lancaster Park in 1973.

Central beat Kahurangi away, Nelson beat Waimea OB at home

Nelson 28 Waimea OB 26;
Kahurangi 15 Central 31;
Moutere 22 Stoke 28;
Harlequins 73 Renwick 12;
Awatere 13 Waitohi 33

Tasman Rugby appoint Coaches for B’s and Under 20’s

Mike Fraser has been appointed Head Coach of the Tasman B program. The appointment sees Mike being promoted from Assistant Coach of the 2012 Tasman B Team. Daniel Perrin serves as the Tasman B Assistant Coach. A former Tasman, Canterbury, BOP, Crusader and Chief player, Dan comes with obvious strengths and knowledge around current practises at ITM and Super level. Don McLean returns as Head Coach of the Tasman U20 program after his successful stint as co-coach of the 2010 Tasman U20 program. Don takes the reins with assistant coach Lachie Taylor, an experienced coach at representative age group and senior rugby.

Big wins for Nelson clubs in Bayleys Tasman Trophy [Nelson Mail]

Results Pool A:

Moutere 20 (Benji Keenan 2 tries, Noah Taio 2 con, 2 pen) Waitohi 20 (Taylor Solomon try, Daniel Hawkins 5 pen). Halftime: Waitohi 12-6.

Nelson 85 (James Lash 3, David Havili 3, Robbie Malneek 3, Ula Fotu 2, Loui Harvey, Mitchell Scott tries, Lash 9 cons, Havili con) Awatere 3 (Johann Louw pen). Halftime: 43-3.

WOB 37 (Kaide Whiting, Joe Higgins, Marty Banks, James Lowe tries, Billy Guyton 4 cons, 3 pens) Stoke 5 (Chris Little try). Halftime: 34-0.

Pool B:

Central 22 (Charlie Shuttleworth, John Pale tries, Gareth Smith 4 pen) Harlequins 18 (Darryl Murray, Mike Schmidt-Lealava'a tries, Schmidt-Lealava'a con, pen, Matt Duggan pen). Halftime: 8-8.

Wanderers 63 (Tries: Trael Joass 2 , Ryan Setefano 2, Alex Lean 2, Jackson Harvey, Jade Beven, Steve Soper, Loa Windley, Alex Ainley, Ben Douglas; Pen: Jackson Harvey ) Renwick 17 (Hayden Swain, Evan Wadsworth, Kurt Schollum tries, Schollum con). Halftime: 27-7.

Nelson clubs dominate Bayleys Tasman Trophy opening round [Marl Express]

Results Pool A: Nelson 12 (Richie Smith, David Havili tries, Havili con) Waitohi 3 (Daniel Hawkins pen). Halftime: 12-0.

Waimea Old Boys 73 (no scorers available) Moutere 21 (Paul Kahui, John Tavares, Chris Ranstead tries, Noah Taio 3 con) Halftime: 45-7.

Stoke 36 (no scorers available) Awatere 9 (Johann Louw 3 pen) Halftime: 17-0.

Pool B: Harlequins 35 (Gary Redmond, Johnny Hope, Willie Tau'alupe, Matt Duggan tries, Duggan 3 con, 2 pen, Hayden Cripps field goal) Kahurangi 34 (Mangisi Kaho, Daniel Smart, Vai Aukafolau tries, Andrew Beatson 2 con, 5 pen). Halftime: 25-19.

Wanderers 42 (no scorers available) Central 35 (Reyne Volavola, Adam Goldsworthy, Kaleni Taetuli, Daniel van Waas tries, Sam Aolele 3 con, 3 pen). Halftime: 15-7.

Leslie passes on the knowledge [Nelson Mail]

John Leslie of Leslie Rugby Coaching Clinic held a day-long skills clinic at Nelson College involving 63 children ranging in age from 6 to 13.

Assisting him were the Tasman Rugby Union's Kahu Marfell and Gareth Archer, former All Blacks lock and Tasman Makos captain Chris Jack, current and former Makos players James Lowe, Hayden Cripps and Shaun Begg and Nelson College First XV players Mitchell Hunt and Louis Saunders-Loder.

Waitohi reel in leaders Central [Marlborough Express]

Waitohi 24 (Eugene Taylor, Manu Mataele tries, Daniel Hawkins 4 pen, con), Central 17 (Tom Mu, Gareth Smith tries, Gareth Smith 2 con, pen). Halftime: 10-14.

Moutere 39 (Noah Taio 2, Chris Ranstead, Brigham Hart, Lockie McCormick tries, Noah Taio 4 con, 2 pen), Harlequins 37 (Kotahi Nathan, Pierre Vienings, Gary Redmond, Tim Perry tries, Matt Duggan 4 con, 3 pen). Halftime: 18-23.

Renwick 23 (Jim McCabe, Anaru Norton tries, Kurt Schollum 3 pen, 2 con), Awatere 21 (Stu Dudley, Billy Collins tries, David Pope 3 pen, con). Halftime: 10-10.