Proudly Supporting Tasman Rugby


Richmond Primary make QF on Day 1 of The Rippa Championship



Counties Manukau, Manawatu and Canterbury shine on day one of Rippa Championship





17-18 September, Wakefield Park, Wellington

Roscommon School representing Counties Manukau is one of three teams to win all Pool games after the opening day of The Rippa Championship at Wakefield Park, Wellington today.

In Pool A, Holy Cross Catholic School Papatoetoe, representing Auckland overcame Poverty Bay, Hawke's Bay and Otago and drew their final match against Waikato, while Manawatu (Riversdale School) - and Southland (Limehills School) tussled for the top in Pool B; with Manawatu narrowly coming out with pool-play honours.

In Pool C, Canterbury (Paparoa Schoo) topped the table and Counties Manukau set Pool D alight with wins over North Otago, Northland, Tasman and Buller.

A total of 200 kids from 20 schools from around the country are in Wellington for the second annual tournament.

NZRU General Manager Community and Provincial Union Rugby Brent Anderson said the first day of tournament provided some compelling match-ups and featured some incredible talent.

"The range of skills on display in Wellington provides me with great confidence that Rippa Rugby provides a perfect pathway for both boys and girls into Sevens and Fifteens. I wouldn't be surprised to see some of the children who played today representing New Zealand at the 2020 Olympics.

"With 78,500 kids registered to play in 2012 - 14 per cent more than in 2011, the popularity of Rippa Rugby is going from strength to strength."

Christine Patea, coach of Roscommon School and whose son plays for Holy Cross, representing Auckland said the whole experience has been great for the South Auckland side.

"This is a once-in-a-lifetime experience for the students, some of whom hadn't been on a plane before or even played much rugby. On the field, ensuring all were involved and not relying on the star players made the difference - it's all about the team."

Four teams returning from Rippa World Cup 2011 have qualified for The Rippa Rugby Championship 2012 (Arrowtown (Otago), Roscommon (Counties Manukau), Riverdale (Manawatu) and Richmond (Tasman).

Hundreds of supporters with faces painted and waving homemade flags and banners were at Wakefield Park to cheer on their teams. Many have travelled from as far afield as Northland and Arrowtown.

Finals play kicks off tomorrow at 9.00am with the first of the quarterfinals to be played at 9.40am and the Final kicking off at 1.00pm.

Canterbury v Tasman
Manawatu v Poverty Bay
Counties Manukau v North Harbour
Auckland v Southland





 Match Results - Monday 17 September


Pool A

Pool B

Pool C

Pool D


Waikato 15 Poverty Bay 30

Wellington 15 Horowhenua Kapiti 55

Wanganui 25 Thames Valley 35

Buller 30 North Otago 25


Hawke's Bay 25 Otago 40

Manawatu 30 Southland 10

North Harbour 10 Taranaki 10

Northland 20 Tasman 20


Poverty Bay 20 Auckland 25

Horowhenua Kapiti 25 Bay of Plenty 40

Thames Valley 25 Canterbury 40

North Otago 5 Counties Manukau 55


Waikato 30 Otago 15

Wellington 5 Southland 70

Wanganui 20 Taranaki 25

Buller 15 Tasman 35


Hawke's Bay 35  Auckland 45

Manawatu 25 Bay of Plenty 10

North Harbour 20 Canterbury 30

Northland 5 Counties Manukau 40


Poverty Bay 30 Otago 40

Horowhenua Kapiti 30 Southland 45

Thames Valley 30 Taranaki 20

North Otago 25 Tasman 35


Waikato 65 Hawke's Bay 70

Wellington 10 Manawatu 65

Wanganui 25 North Harbour 35

Buller 5 Northland 30


Auckland 40 Otago 15

Bay of Plenty 35 Southland 70

Canterbury 50 Taranaki 10

Counties Manukau 30 Tasman 25


Hawke's 25 Poverty Bay 65

Manawatu 45 Horowhenua Kapiti 25

North Harbour 35 Thames Valley 25

Northland 40 North Otago 25


Waikato 40 Auckland 40

Wellington 20 Bay Of Plenty 50

Wanganui 10 Canterbury 30

Buller 5 Counties Manukau 50